Qualified hospital administrators made an immediate impact in understanding the dynamics of hospital functioning and in instituting requisite measures for improvement in effective provisioning of patient care. Interactions of the hospital administrators at various forums lead to an emergence of a felt need to have a formal professional body of hospital administrators which apart from achieving other objectives would facilitate interaction amongst the hospital administrators to discuss, disseminate, enhance knowledge/ skill and initiate/ encourage research activities related to the speciality.

Late Prof R. P. Sinha, the then Professor and Head of Department of Hospital Administration (AIIMS), New Delhi with his visionary approach and dynamic leadership along with Dr. A. N. Safaya, the then Medical Superintendent of All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, conceptualized an Academy of Hospital Administration. The felt need soon metamorphosed into an emerged historic reality and an institution -Academy of Hospital Administration (AHA) was established on 16th February 1987 under the Society Registration Act 1860.

The founder members of the Academy were late Prof R P Sinha, Dr. A N Safaya, Maj Gen S K Biswas, AVSM, VSM (Retd), Prof R K Sarma, Maj Gen A Chakravarti, AVSM (Retd), Prof R C Anand, Brig M Srivastava and Col V M Mathur- AHA is registered under the Society Registration Act 1860 Not for profit body of health and Hospital Administrators- exempted from Income Tax.
The Academy initially located at Deptt of Hospital Administration, AIIMS, New Delhi later Shifted to its own AHA House [Institute of Healthcare Management, Training and Research Campus] Sector-62, Institutional Area.

It was in the momentous year of 1966 that the speciality of Hospital Administration gained credence in India and the Department of Hospital Administration was established at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi.